Book Related

Favourite Books From When I Was A Kid

So, I was reading a few articles about Beverly Cleary, what with her 100th birthday being yesterday, which led me to watching the Ramona and Beezus movie that came out a few years back. This led me to looking up the books, which led me to other books I loved as a child.

Since I was having fun remembering all these books, I thought I might out together a list to share with you lovely folks.

Without further ado, here some of my favourite books from when I was a child:

The Ramona series by Beverly Cleary
These books are so much fun! As I kid, I loved them because the kids actually seemed like real kids. Plus, Ramona was always getting up to fun shenanigans not unlike what my friends and I got up to. I haven’t read these since elementary school, but I may have to pick them up again soon.

The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine 
This is still one of my favourite books as an adult. There are a lot of strong lead characters in children’s literature, so it was nice to read about a character who had to overcome her fears to save her sister.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
No list would be complete without Harry Potter. I love this series just as much now as I did when I was little.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
Getting to explore the a whole chocolate factory led Willy Wonka? Yes, please. I found both of the movies for this book a little weird, but I loved the book

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing and the following Fudge books by Judy Bloom
I think I enjoyed these books so much as a child because I could relates to Peter as the older child with a crazy younger sibling. These books were fun, and I think they’re still packed in a box somewhere at my parent’s place.

Bunnicula by Deborah and James Howe
I genuinely cannot remember what happens in this book. I didn’t even remember what it was about until I looked it up on Goodreads. But I do remember loving this book

What were some of your favourite books as a child?

3 thoughts on “Favourite Books From When I Was A Kid

Leave a Reply

