Reviews

Never Never by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

24378015

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.



Song For This Book: I Will Remember You by Sarah McLachlan

3/5

This book had been on my radar for a while, but kept putting it off because I’m generally not much of a romance person, and I’m still figuring out what exactly new adult is, and because I rarely pick up novellas for reasons I can’t even explain. But I came across a discussion that was going up (I’ll pop the link down the bottom of this), and I figured I should just bite the bullet and read it.

It wasn’t as bad as I anticipated. Romance usually turns me off immediately, but this wasn’t too bad. Maybe just because of the whole memory loss thing resulting in romance not being quite as important. Don’t be too disappointed, there are still some good lovey-dovey scenes smattered throughout, though. The mystery was intriguing enough, and I got through it pretty fast in relation to the length of the book.

The Good Points of Never Never:

There is no lead up to the action in this novella. From the first sentence, you hit the ground running and it doesn’t really stop until you’ve reached the end.

The whole mystery of what is going on with Silas and Charlie is really interesting, especially as they discover more and more about who they used to be, and what had been going on in the days prior to their memory loss.

The writing is great, and it has good flow, never leaving you stranded for a page or two while you figure out what’s happening.

The Downsides of Never Never:

With the possible exception of Silas, I don’t think I liked a single character in this book. They’re all just kind of… awful.

Perhaps this is just me and my own experience from working with people with memory loss and studying the psychology side, but this is generally not how people handle memory loss. If two teenagers found themselves in this situation, it is highly unlikely that they would handle it in the way that Charlie and Silas did. I realize that this book has the paranormal element, which changes how people react to mental health issues, but it just annoyed me how calm they both seemed.

The middle section seemed to drag a bit, and it seemed to rely on the mystery of what was causing the memory loss to keep the reader hooked while very little was happening (or while romance-y things were happening, but again, that may be just me and my unromantic nature).

All in all, it wasn’t bad. It was a fun little read, but I don’t think I would read it again. I followed what some others seem to be doing, and I looked up spoilers instead of reading the other two books, because I heard that the ending is terrible. Fun fact: it really is. So I won’t be picking up those. But if you’re looking for a quick, easy read, this is definitely one you should give a try.

If you’d like to do what I did, and read the first and just look up spoilers for the other two, Jorelene over at Page Chronicles put together a fantastic article that gives you all the spoilers you could want so you don’t have to dig through the world wide web to find out how it ends.

What did you think of Never Never?

2 thoughts on “Never Never by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

Leave a Reply

